Suomeksi | På svenska

Electrical Engineering is a broad multi-disciplinary doctoral programme providing graduates with the ability to work in a variety of fields ranging from traditional electrical engineering and energy sector to biomedical engineering and robotics and nanotechnology and further to communications engineering. Based on a strong mathematical and natural science basis, the curriculum is flexible, allowing each doctoral candidate to compile her/his own combination of courses and research according to her/his own interests. The programme covers all disciplines of the School of Electrical Engineering and allows multi-disciplinary co-operation across Aalto University.

The Aalto Doctoral Programme in Electrical Engineering was established on 1 January 2011. It comprises 24 fields of research. The Programme is a joint effort of the Departments of Electronics and Nanoengineering (ELE), Signal Processing and Acoustics (SA), Electrical Engineering and Automation (EEA), and Communications and Networking (TLV), as well as the Metsähovi Radio Observatory and Micronova - the Research Centre for Micro- and Nanotechnology.

The degree

The Doctor of Science (Tech) degree is 40 ECTS credits of theoretical studies and dissertation thesis which means four years of full-time studies.  The Licentiate of Science (Tech) degree is 40 ECTS credits of theoretical studies and licentiate thesis which means two years of full-time studies. The extent of the licentiate and doctoral degrees consist of theoretical studies and research work. The emphasis is on research work. See more detailed description of the degree.

Research fields in Doctoral Programme in Electrical Engineering

The research field is chosen when applying to the programme. Descriptions of the research field can be found at Degree structure and coursework page.

  • Acoustics and Audio Signal Processing
  • Advanced materials and photonics
  • Applied Electronics
  • Automation, Systems and Control Engineering
  • Bioelectronics and Instrumentation
  • Communications Engineering
  • Electromagnetics and Circuit Theory
  • Electromechanics
  • Electronics integration and reliability
  • Illumination Engineering and Electrical Building Services
  • Information Theory
  • Measurement Science and Technology
  • Micro- and Nanoelectronic Circuit Design
  • Micro- and nanosciences
  • Network Economics
  • Networking Technology
  • Power Electronics and Electric Drives
  • Power Systems and High Voltage Engineering
  • Radio Engineering
  • Signal Processing for Communications
  • Signal Processing Technology
  • Space science and technology
  • Speech and Language Technology
  • User Interfaces


  1. Beat the Blues! Wellbeing Event for International Students at Aalto on the 6th of March 2019 21 hours ago
  2. Espanja 2 - työelämän espanjaa kurssilla on vielä tilaa 18.02.2019
  3. Application period for Information Technology Program (ITP) open until April 5th, 2019 – Hakuaika Information Technology Program (ITP) -kesäohjelmaan on avoinna 5. huhtikuuta 2019 asti 11.02.2019
  4. Research Ethics Course for Doctoral Students 8.3.-8.4.2019 10.01.2019
  5. European Forum Alpbach Scholarship - Application period 15.2.-29.3.2019 08.02.2019


1 Comment

  1. katsokaa alasivut, niihin on ripoteltu info-kenttien sisälle (jotka tietenkin poistetaan lopullisesta tuotoksesta) ohjeita ja ehdoituksia.  Sivujen järjestys on navigaation mukainen, siihen ei saa koskea koulukohtaisesti, jos jotain muutetaan, kaikille tulee sama muutos.