The doctoral programme committee comprises a chair and 4 – 6 professorial members merited in doctoral education and representing the central fields of research of the school. One of the professorial members may be from another school within Aalto University. In addition, the committee has a doctoral candidate member representing the fields of research of the school. The committee elects a vice chair from among its members. The committee may have deputy members.

The term of the doctoral degree committee is four calendar years.

The doctoral programme committee shall

  1. develop the content of the doctoral programmes and the joint studies offered by the school;
  2. put forth proposals to the school academic committee on the fields of research in doc-toral programmes;
  3. prepare proposals for the dean on admission of doctoral students;
  4. appoint the preliminary examiners of dissertations and decide on the permission for pub-lic defence of dissertation;
  5. appoint the opponents for doctoral dissertations;
  6. evaluate the dissertations;
  7. appoint the examiners of licentiate theses;
  8. evaluate licentiate theses; and
  9. perform other duties assigned to it by the dean or in the degree regulations.

In addition, the doctoral programme committee shall, unless it has assigned the chair to decide on any of the matters:

  1. appoint a supervising professor and advisor(s) for the doctoral student;
  2. decide on the degree language of the doctoral student and on the topic and language of the licentiate or doctoral degree;
  3. confirm the study plans of doctoral students;
  4. decide on the time and language of the of public examination of the doctoral dissertation and appoint the custos for it.

Secretary of the Doctoral Programme Committee: Study Coordinator Laura Öhrnberg

Members of the Doctoral Programme Committee

Professor Tapio Lokki, ChairDepartment of Computer Science
Professor N. AsokanDepartment of Computer Science
Professor Adam FosterDepartment of Applied Physics
Professor Alexander Engström, Vice ChairDepartment of Mathematics and Systems Analysis
Professor Jukka TulkkiDepartment of Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering
Professor Riitta SmedsDepartment of Industrial Engineering and Management
Doctoral student Alex Karrila (from 1.8.2018)Represents doctoral students at all departments
Deputy memberDepartment
Professor Jan HolmströmDepartment of Industrial Engineering and Management
Professor Mathias GrothDepartment of Applied Physics
Doctoral student Olli Halminen (from 1.8.2018)Represents doctoral students at all departments