Academic calendar

[Suomeksi]

In the academic year 2017-2018, teaching will be divided into five seven-week periods. The last week of each teaching period also serves as an evaluation week, in addition to which there are two evaluation periods outside the teaching periods and summer teaching periods.

Autumn term 2017

Teaching/Evaluation periods

Dates                  

Week numbers

Summer teaching period

Tue 1 Aug - Thurs 31 Aug 2017

31  - 35

ARTS orientation and 1st evaluation period

Mon 21 Aug - Fri 1 Sept 2017

34 - 35

1st evaluation period continues and orientations

Mon 4 Sept – Fri 8 Sept 2017

36

Period I              

Evaluation week for  Period I

Mon 11 Sept - Fri 27 Oct 2017

Mon  23 Oct -  Fri  27 Oct 2017

37 - 43

43

Period II

Evaluation week for  Period II

Mon 30 Oct - Fri 15 Dec 2017

Mon 11 Dec - Fri 15 Dec 2017

44 - 50

50

2nd evaluation period

Mon 18 Dec - Fri 22 Dec 2017

51

 

Spring term  2018

Teaching/Evaluation periods

Dates                  

Week numbers

Period III

Evaluation week for  Period III

Tue 2 Jan  - Fri 16 Feb 2018

Mon 12 Feb - Fri 16 Feb 2018

1-7

7

Period IV

Evaluation week for  Period  IV

Mon 19 Feb - Fri 6 Apr 2018

Tue 3 Apr - Fri 6 Apr 2018    

8-14

14

Period V

Evaluation week for  Period V

Mon 9 Apr  - Fri 25 May 2018

Mon 21 May  - Fri 25 May 2018

15 - 21

21

Summer teaching period

Mon 28 May - Tue 31 July 2018

22 - 31


Courses are lectured from Monday to Friday. Lectures always start quarter past the hour and usually last 1,5 hrs (a two-hour lecture) at one time e.g. 10.15−11.45, 13.15−14.45, 15.15−16.45 ja 17.15−18.45 etc. or e.g. a three-hour lecture 09.15-11.45 usually with 15-minute break.

In both campuses (Otaniemi and Töölö) lunch break is between 12:00 and 13:00, there should be no teaching during lunch break.